STX Desktop: Daily Hours

Clocking In and Out

Purpose

If your employees clock in and out, you will have accurate records of their work hours for payroll and productivity reports. Each employee may clock in and out on the Daily Hours: Status tab an unlimited number of times each day. You may correct these entries on the Daily Hours: History tab if mistakes are made.

Opening Daily Hours

Click the Payroll icon in the main STX toolbar. 

Click the Daily Hours icon in the drop-down toolbar.

You may also access Daily Hours by going to the Payroll menu and selecting Daily Hours.

Once you have selected the Daily Hours option, the following screen will appear with all employees listed.

 The Daily Hours: Status screen shows the current date and time (as set by the computer you are working on), listing of employees, the status of each employee, and the hours they are scheduled to work.

Clocking In

Click the In radio button to the right of the employee name. You will be prompted to enter a password.

When the password sheet drops down, the employee’s password is typed in the Password field.

The OWNER password can be entered instead, and will override having to enter the employee’s password. Click OK to record the In time for the employee.

If you are using Biometric security, you may use the employee’s fingerprint instead of typing the password.

Important Note: This is one reason to be sure the OWNER Password is secure and only used by the owner. The OWNER password can be used to log any employee in, regardless of what the employee password actually is. While this is very useful for the owner, employees who know the OWNER password then would have access to logging their fellow employees in and/or editing history. This is a security breach that could cause untold problems in trying to track employee lateness or missed days / hours. 


Clocking Out

Click the Out radio button to the right of the employee name. You will be prompted to enter a password.

When the password sheet drops down, the employee’s password is typed in the Password field.

The OWNER password can be entered instead, and will override having to enter the employee’s password. Click OK to record the Out time for the employee.

The OWNER password can be entered instead, and will override having to enter the employee’s password. Click OK to record the Out time for the employee. 

If you are using Biometric security, you may use the employee’s fingerprint instead of typing the password.

Important Note: This is one reason to be sure the OWNER Password is secure and only used by the owner. The OWNER password can be used to log any employee in, regardless of what the employee password actually is. While this is very useful for the owner, employees who know the OWNER password then would have access to logging their fellow employees in and/or editing history. This is a security breach that could cause untold problems in trying to track employee lateness or missed days / hours. 

Forgetting to Clock Out

An employee listed in RED indicates the employee had Clocked In at one point, but never Clocked Out. Using the OWNER password, you can clock this employee out. Click the Out radio button to the right of the employee name and enter the OWNER password. The following Alert will appear.

Click Clock Out to clock this employee out. Click Cancel to return to the Status tab. Go to the History tab to manually adjust the hours for the employee. Once on the History tab, you can edit previous days so the employee’s hours reflect the correct amount of time worked.

Please see Daily Hours: HistoryHow to Add, Edit or Delete

Status

Purpose

You may check the status of your employees at any time during the day. This tab is also the starting point for employees wishing to clock in and out.

Employee Status

The Status tab shows the current date and time (as set by the computer you are working on), listing of employees, the status of each employee, and the hours they are scheduled to work. Each employee will show if they are currently clocked In or clocked Out, as well as what time they last clocked In.

Note: You will not see a time if the employee is currently clocked out.

In our example, 3 of the employees have clocked In. The other employees have either not clocked in at all, or have clocked out during their shift, possibly for lunch.

History

Purpose

The History tab can be used to monitor how many times an employee has clocked in and out for breaks, lunch hours taken, and a total number of hours worked for the day. IMPORTANT NOTE: It is NOT recommended to give all employees access to editing the History tab in Daily Hours. Please be sure to see the chapter Setup: Employees: Security for how to set up security options for an employee.

Being able to only access, or view the History tab, will allow an employee to see their history. It is recommended that most employees only be given the ability to access the History tab without being able to add, edit, or delete the information.

From the History tab, you can Add an entry to the list, Edit the existing entries, or Delete an existing entry from the list. For those who do not have their employees clock in and out on the computer, but would prefer to enter the hours worked manually, you will click the Add button to enter everything manually.

Each time an employee clocks in and/or out, an additional entry will be created for that day.

To see the history for a different day, highlight the desired day on the Calendar

Use the left arrow to move backward to a previous month. 

Use the right arrow to move forward to future months.

To see a total number of hours an employee has worked for the selected day, highlight the employee’s name.

The total hours worked will show at the bottom of the screen.

Applying Scheduled Hours

Click Apply Scheduled Hours to create entries based on the scheduled hours you have set for the employees to work. If the employee already has clock entries for the date selected, the following Alert will appear when clicking Apply Scheduled Hours.

Click OK to return to the History tab.

Adding Employee Hours

Click Add in the lower right corner. The following drop-down sheet will appear.

Select an employee to add hours for by using the Employee popup menu.

Enter the Time In, Time Out, and the Duration will automatically calculate for you. Click Add.

NOTE: When manually entering times, you may choose from the following formats.

If the times you are entering conflict with an existing entry, an alert will appear.

Click OK to continue entering the correct hours for the employee.

Changing Employee Hours

Highlight the entry you wish to edit. Click Edit to make changes to the entry. Some employees may have more than one entry, so be sure you are highlighting the correct entry to edit. 

Adjust the Time In field to the appropriate time the employee came in.

Adjust the Time Out field to the appropriate time the employee left. The Duration will automatically calculate for you.

If, however, the employee clocked in without clocking out, and you know the employee worked a total of 8 hours, simply enter 800 in the Duration field and the Time Out field will auto-calculate for you.

Click Accept when all changes have been made. Click Cancel to return to the History tab.

Regular Hours vs. Secondary Hours

Regular Hours – the hours an employee normally works. 

Click the Regular Hours radio button if the entry will be used to calculate the Regular Hours at the regular hourly wage.

NOTE: The regular hourly wage is entered on the employee’s record. Please see the chapter Setup: Employees: Payroll for more information.

Secondary Hours – normally used for an employee who works a different set of hours at a different wage within the same day. For example: Part of the day your employee works at the front desk for one wage and set of hours. The second part of the day they work as an assistant at a different wage. 

Click the Secondary Hours radio button if the entry will be used to calculate the Secondary Hours at the secondary hourly wage.

NOTE: The secondary hourly wage is entered on the employee’s record. Please see the chapter Setup: Employees: Payroll for more information.

Click Accept when all changes have been made. Click Cancel to return to the History tab.

Removing Employee Hours

Click Delete to delete the entry. Some employees may have more than one entry, so be sure you are highlighting the correct entry to delete. An alert will appear.

Click Cancel to return to the History tab. Click Delete to delete the entry.

STX DesktopSTX Software