STX Desktop: Computer Configurations

Computer Configurations

System Preferences and Software Update

For optimal use of STX with Mac OS X, it is best to configure each computer with the following. NOTE: If you have more than one computer in a network, either local or remote, you must make sure ALL computers are set the same way.

Click the System Preferences icon in the dock or access System Preferences from under the Apple menu.

Click the Energy Saver icon on the System Preferences window in the Hardware section. In order to make changes to the screen, you may need to unlock the Energy Saver screen.

Click the icon of the lock found in the lower left corner and you will be asked for the system Administrator password. 

Enter the Administrator Name and Password for the computer. 

Click OK

You must edit your Energy Saver settings to not put the computer or hard disk to sleep.

If your computer is a laptop, you will need to use the following settings for both Battery and Power Adapter. If your computer is a desktop, you will only need to use the following settings one time. 

• Slide the top slider control completely to the right and place it on Never.

• Slide the bottom slider control to wherever you are comfortable. Putting the Display to sleep is okay, as long as the Computer never goes to sleep.

Do NOT check the box labeled Put the hard disk(s) to sleep when possible. This box MUST remain unchecked.

It is recommended you leave the Server (or stand-alone) computer turned on at all times. Do not shut down the computer unless special circumstances require you do so. A periodic Restart of the computer is fine to do.

If you are concerned about losing power while the computer is continuously left turned on, you should purchase a battery backup, also called Uninterruptible Power Supply device. This allows you enough time to shut down the computer properly in the event of a power outage.

 Click the Show All button in the upper left-hand corner of the window. All of the System Preferences icons will re-appear.

 Click the Language & Text icon on the System Preferences window in the Personal section. 

NOTE: If you have more than one computer in a network, either local or remote, you must make sure ALL computers are set the same way.

English should be the only language showing. If there are more languages listed, click the Edit List button. 

Uncheck all languages, leaving English the only one checked, and click OK. The changes will take effect the next time you restart the computer.

Click the Formats tab on the Language & Text screen. 

Set the Region popup menu to United States. Click the Customize button next to Dates. The following drop-down sheet will appear.

Click the ‘year’ showing the current year to highlight the number and use the popup menu to change the year to show the 4-digit year. 

Do NOT type the 4-digit year. Use the popup menu to make the selection.

Click OK.

Click the Show All button in the upper left-hand corner of the window. All of the System Preferences icons will re-appear.

Click the Date & Time icon on the System Preferences window in the System section. In order to make changes to the screen, you may need to unlock the Energy Saver screen.

NOTE: If you have more than one computer in a network, either local or remote, you must make sure ALL computers are set to the exact same Time and Date.

Verify the current Date and Time are correctly showing on the Date & Time tab. 

The easiest way to make sure the Date and Time are always correct is to check the Set date & time automatically box and set the popup menu to show the Apple Americas/U.S. (time.apple.com) option.

Click the Time Zone tab and verify the Time Zone and Closest City are set correctly. 

You may check the box labeled Set time zone automatically using current location if it is easier to make sure all computers are set the same. 

NOTE: If you have more than one computer in a network, either local or remote, you must make sure ALL computers are set to the exact same Time Zone and exact same Closest City.

If you see that the computers are on the same Closest City, but on different Time Zone, you must update the version of OS X.

Close the System Preferences window to quit System Preferences

Changes made to the various System Preferences screens will take effect after restarting the computer. Go to the Apple menu and select the Restart option.

Occasionally, a new computer is shipped with an out-of-date version of OS X. It is best to install all Apple updates on a regular basis on each computer. Follow the steps below for using the OS X Software Update… feature.

 Go to the Apple menu and select Software Update…

Software Update checks the Internet for any updates your computer needs to have installed. If any updates are found for your computer, they will be listed on the screen.

Click Show Details to view the listing of available OS X updates.

If any updates are found for your computer, they will be listed on the screen. 

Click the button Install X Item(s) to begin the installation process. 

During the update process, you might be prompted to enter the Admin password for the computer. Some updates require the Admin password in order for the updates to be installed.  

Once all updates are installed, you might be prompted to restart the computer. Be sure to quit all running applications if the Restart alert appears, then click Restart. If a restart is not required, you may quit the Software Update